Earthquake Today

I couldn’t understand, I was Shocked , I was Terrified , I am Sad. Around 750 people lost their lives so far in Nepal, don’t know the exact figure and so much to come out from debris. In West Bengal 3 people have died so far and 20 people in India. I am staying here in Kolkata for more than 35 years, witnessed earthquakes before but never felt what I felt today, Richter scale caught 7.9-magnitude earthquake with 15 consecutive aftershocks. This quake, which was felt as far away as Dhaka in Bangladesh, Lhasa in Tibet and Lahore in Pakistan. There was avalanche in Everest Base Camp and 7 people have died in their tent, but a team from Kolkata for Mt. Everest Expedition, they are safe.
Today in West Bengal, there are civic polls, so for that I was watching ABP News channel. At First the Anchor of the TV channel, suddenly got up from his seat and said there is earthquake. On the same time my wife noticed the same  and told me.  Initially I couldn’t understand what is happening and immediately I , My wife and My 83 years old father, we all moved out from home to reach road for safety. When we reached the ground floor, found entire locality vacated their own home and came down to road. Everybody was so terrified, I have tried to call my relatives but found that their was sudden cellular network failure. By the grace of God, everybody is fine now.

My condolence to those families who lost their lives in this earthquake and I pray to God for them.

Copyright © Indrajit Das
you can share this post subjects to the conditions that please give due credit to Author Indrajit Das and do not alter before sharing.
Request do not Plagiarize.

If you found your photographs here and have issues with that please E-mail me with your requests, I will remove your photographs from public domain.

Facebook Twitterpinterest-2google-pluswiki

4 thoughts on “Earthquake Today

Leave a Reply

